Congratulations to the PC Scholars Class of 2017

14 Jul Congratulations to the PC Scholars Class of 2017

On Friday, June 23, current scholars, parents and board members all gathered on the campus of Case Western Reserve to celebrate our senior scholars as they graduated from the PC Scholars Program.

The program opened with a few words from Director of Operations , Erica C. Penick and Board Chair, Michael Obi followed by program highlights from PC Scholars Program Coordinator, Victoria Webster.

A few key workshops from this year included: 

  • Career Day
  • Introduction to Greek Life with The Divine 9
  • Day of Care Volunteering with North East Ohio Restoration Alliance
  • Social Justice Forum with local police and judges to discuss the killings of unarmed African- Americans and what possible solutions

Keynote speaker Vincent L. Briley, Assistant Dean of Access and Completion at The Eastern Campus of  Cuyahoga Community College delivered an encouraging speech to our scholars that addressed this year’s theme: Overcoming Uncertainty.

Briley assured students that as they take a step into a new experience of entering college, there are basic skills that they have acquired through school that has prepared them for this moment. Students were also reminded that they have the support of their parents and community.

After the Keynote speech, our graduation ceremony commenced where each student was awarded with scholarship dollars.

As the ceremony concluded, our PC Scholars Program Coordinator announced that The Presidents’ Council will formally continue to do what they have been doing informally doing since the program’s inception– provide support to alumni through college by launching the PC Scholars Alumni Association.

Thanks to the Ames Family Foundation, Alumni will be eligible to apply for additional scholarships as they matriculate through college.

Congratulations to the Class of 2017! 

Taylor AlexanderUniversity of Akron


Arissa ColvinShawnee State University 

Arissa Colvin

Lamario HamiltonCuyahoga Community College

Lamario Picture

Ja’najah JacksonThe University of Akron 

Janajah Final

DeVante JohnsonCuyahoga Community College 

DeVante Johnson Pic

Terrique KinderCuyahoga Community College


Amauri Pyles- BrownCleveland State University 

Marquez SwansonYoungstown State University 


Kadrel ThomasUniversity of Toledo

Kadrel Thomas Pictur e

D’Asia WilliamsUniversity of Akron 


Imani WilliamsMiami University

Imani Williams